Friday, February 26, 2010

Costume Designers Guild Winners

And once again, the front runner for this award is yet another (in the words of In the Loop) "Regency f*cking costume drama". It's starting to become tiresome, actually; there are other time periods worth rewarding with the Oscar other than the 17 and 1800s. An upset on March 7th won't happen, but I reeeeeally wish it would.

Source: ???

LOS ANGELES – "The Young Victoria," "Crazy Heart" and "The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus" won the top feature prizes Thursday evening at the 12th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards.

Sandy Powell won for excellence in period film for "Victoria," Doug Hall earned the honor in contemporary film for "Crazy Heart" and Monique Prudhomme took home the fantasy award for "Doctor Parnassus."

On the television side, Lou Eyrich won for contemporary television series for "Glee," Janie Bryant won for period/fantasy series for "Mad Men" and Catherine Marie Thomas was the recipient for TV movie or miniseries for "Grey Gardens."

Casey Storm earned the award for commercial costume design for a milk ad, "Milkquarious."

Five honorary awards were presented during the gala hosted by Parker Posey at the Beverly Hilton Hotel: Director Rob Marshall received the distinguished collaborator award, Emily Blunt won the Swarovski Award, Sandy Powell won the Lacoste career achievement award in film, Michael Travis received the career achievement award in television and the late Emmy Award-winning costume designer Robert Turturice was inducted into the guild's Hall of Fame.

No comments: